Relay For Life

Felicia Verna Ralph Lauren

Cancer has impacted my life ever since I was old enough to remember. Both my Grandmother were diagnosed with the deadly diseases.  In 2007 I lost my grandma Verna McDowell to Cancer. She was expected to live six months to a year once diagnosed, but passed away on Valentines Day less than 2 month later. Losing my grandma was one of the most difficult experiences I had to go through, but it was also a learning experience about life. I am proud to say my grandma M is a Breast Cancer survivor due to early detection.  Through out my life I have met many Cancer survivors who continue live their lives  and inspire others despite their situation. I dedicate this post is dedicated to all Cancer victims. I am supporting the  Relay For Life initiatives to help a mother figure to me Ms. Carmela Watson and her team Hunter Huss Huskies Relay For Life of Gastonia. If you would like to help our initiatives you may do so by clicking here.

What Is Relay For Life?

Each year, more than 4 million people in over 20 countries take part in this global phenomenon and raise much-needed funds and awareness to save lives from cancer.

History of Relay For Life

In May 1985, Dr. Gordy Klatt walked and ran for 24 hours around a track in Tacoma, Washington, ultimately raising $27,000 to help the American Cancer Society fight the nation’s biggest health concern – cancer. A year later, 340 supporters joined the overnight event. Since those first steps, the Relay For Life movement has grown into a worldwide phenomenon, raising more than $4 billion to fight cancer.

Celebrate

During a Relay event, participants and survivors celebrate what they’ve overcome during the Survivors Lap.

 

relay for life felicia verna

For more information click here

Leave a Reply

